in

“Schitt’s Creek” Star Catherine O’Hara Wins Emmy For Outstanding Lead Actress In A Comedy Series

O’Hara was a heavy betting favorite.

72ND EMMY¨ AWARDS - Hosted by Jimmy Kimmel, the "72nd Emmy¨ Awards" will broadcast SUNDAY, SEPT. 20 (8:00 p.m. EDT/6:00 p.m. MDT/5:00 p.m. PDT), on ABC. (ABC/Image Group LA) 72ND EMMY¨ AWARDS

Going into Sunday’s Emmy Awards ceremony, oddsmakers were expecting the final season of “Schitt’s Creek” to receive ample recognition.

Their prediction is, thus far, off to a good start.

Catherine O’Hara won for Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy Series, the first award distributed during Sunday’s socially distanced broadcast. O’Hara was a heavy betting favorite.

O’Hara, who played Moira Rose on “Schitt’s,” beat out Christina Applegate, Linda Cardellini, Rachel Brosnahan, Issa Rae, and Tracee Ellis Ross to win the trophy during Sunday’s ceremony.

ABC is handling broadcasting duties, with Jimmy Kimmel hosting from a largely empty venue.

Written by Brian Cantor

Brian Cantor is the editor-in-chief for Headline Planet. He has been a leading reporter in the music, movie, television and sporting spaces since 2002.

Brian's reporting has been cited by major websites like BuzzFeed, Billboard, the New Yorker and The Fader -- and shared by celebrities like Taylor Swift, Justin Bieber and Nicki Minaj.

Contact Brian at brian.cantor[at]headlineplanet.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading…

Ava Max’s “Kings & Queens” Reaches Top 20 At Pop Radio, Drake & Lil Durk Top 25, Marshmello & Demi Lovato Top 30

“Schitt’s Creek” Scores Another Emmy As Eugene Levy Wins For Outstanding Lead Actor In A Comedy Series