Camila Cabello Comments On Leaving Fifth Harmony; Says Group Posted Statement Without Her Knowledge

Camila Cabello [CBS]

As the clock struck midnight Monday morning, Fifth Harmony posted a statement confirming that Camila Cabello had decided to leave the group. The girl group, which rose to fame on “The X Factor” and scored hits like “Worth It” and “Work From Home,” will continue as a foursome.

In her first public comment on the matter, Cabello confirms the core of the news: she is indeed done with the group. She does, however, deny some specific aspects of the group’s official statement.

Notably, she says she was “shocked to read the statement the Fifth Harmony [social accounts] posted without my knowing.”

She further denies that Ally, Lauren, Normani and Dinah learned of her intention to exit from her “representatives.”

“The girls were aware of my feelings through the long, much needed conversations we had about the future that we had during tour,” wrote Cabello. “Saying they were informed through my representatives that I was ‘leaving the group’ is simply not true.”

“Just like the other girls said in their statement about their plans, I had also planned to continue with my solo endeavors in the new year, but I did not intend to end things with Fifth Harmony this way,” added the artist.

Cabello nonetheless wishes the remaining Fifth Harmony members the best. She also thanks the Harmonizer fanbase for their support.

The full statement is embedded below:

Written by Brian Cantor

Brian Cantor is the editor-in-chief for Headline Planet. He has been a leading reporter in the music, movie, television and sporting spaces since 2002.

Brian's reporting has been cited by major websites like BuzzFeed, Billboard, the New Yorker and The Fader -- and shared by celebrities like Taylor Swift, Justin Bieber and Nicki Minaj.

Contact Brian at brian.cantor[at]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Rae Sremmurd & Gucci Mane’s “Black Beatles” Tops Sixth Straight Billboard Hot 100

Krewella’s “Team,” Little Mix’s “Shout Out To My Ex” Added By Chicago’s B96