Carice van Houten, Julia Garner, Amy Adams, Jharrel Jerome, Jodie Comer, More Score First Emmy Nominations At 2019 Ceremony

Meet the individuals who will be competing for their first Emmys at the 2019 ceremony.

Carice van Houten and Maisie Williams | Helen Sloan/HBO

The Television Academy revealed the 2019 Primetime Emmy Awards nominations Tuesday morning.

Any entertainment professional whose name was called has reason to celebrate. Some, however, have a reason for a slightly wider smile.

Representing a variety of critically acclaimed series, these individuals will be first-time nominees at the 2019 ceremony.

The list includes stars from some of the most buzzy and acclaimed television projects (Jodie Comer from “Killing Eve,” Julia Garner from “Ozark,” Jharrel Jermone from “When They See Us”) and cast members from established hits (including multiple stars from “Game Of Thrones” and “This Is Us”).

Not simply a collection of relative newcomers, the list of first-timers also includes established Hollywood stars like Amy Adams (“Sharp Objects”), Benicio del Toro (“Escape at Dannemora”), Hugh Grant (“A Very English Scandal”), and Sam Rockewell (“Fosse/Verdon”).

See the full list of first-time performer nominees below:

Amy Adams – Sharp Objects
Alfie Allen – Game Of Thrones
Michael Angarano – This Is Us
Asante Blackk – When They See Us
Marsha Stephanie Blake – When They See Us
Anthony Carrigan – Barry
Gwendoline Christie – Game Of Thrones
Sian Clifford – Fleabag
Jodie Comer – Killing Eve
Paul Dano – Escape At Dannemora
Benicio del Toro – Escape At Dannemora
Aunjanue Ellis – When They See Us
Julia Garner – Ozark
Sarah Goldberg – Barry
Hugh Grant – A Very English Scandal
Jessica Hecht – Special
Marin Hinkle – The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel
Eric Jacobson – When You Wish Upon A Pickle: A Sesame Street Special
Jharrel Jerome – When They See Us
Joey King – The Act
Luke Kirby – The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel
Marie Kondo – Tidying Up With Marie Kondo
Michael McKean – Better Call Saul
Mandy Moore – This Is Us
Kumail Nanjiani – The Twilight Zone
Chris O’Dowd – State Of The Union
Nick Offerman – Making It
Punam Patel – Special
Rosamund Pike – State Of The Union
Billy Porter – Pose
Margaret Qualley – Fosse/Verdon
Kevin Michael Richardson – F Is For Family
Sam Rockwell – Fosse/Verdon
Stephen Root – Barry
Kristin Scott Thomas – Fleabag
Rufus Sewell – The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel
Fiona Shaw – Killing Eve and Fleabag
Juliet Stevenson – Queens Of Mystery
Stellan Skarsgård – Chernobyl
Chris Sullivan – This Is Us
Sophie Turner – Game Of Thrones
Carice van Houten – Game Of Thrones
Emily Watson – Chernobyl
Ben Whishaw – A Very English Scandal
Michelle Williams – Fosse/Verdon

Written by Brian Cantor

Brian Cantor is the editor-in-chief for Headline Planet. He has been a leading reporter in the music, movie, television and sporting spaces since 2002.

Brian's reporting has been cited by major websites like BuzzFeed, Billboard, the New Yorker and The Fader -- and shared by celebrities like Taylor Swift, Justin Bieber and Nicki Minaj.

Contact Brian at brian.cantor[at]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Sophie Turner, Gwendoline Christie, Maisie Williams & More “Game Of Thrones” Stars Score 2019 Emmy Nominations

Jonas Brothers’ “Only Human” Again Ranks As Pop Radio’s Most Added Song