Baker Mayfield, Dak Prescott, Julio Jones, More Appear In New “Sunday Night Football” Opener

NBC reveals the thirteen NFL players who will appear in this season’s opener.

Carrie Underwood in Sunday Night Football opener | Courtesy of NBC

As we approach the start of the 2019-20 NFL season, NBC revealed which star players to expect in the new “Sunday Night Football” opener.

The list includes thirteen players, eight of whom are quarterbacks. With three players each, the Chicago Bears and Philadelphia Eagles have ample representation.

The players join musical artists Carrie Underwood and Joan Jett in the montage, which was filmed at Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta.

Here are the NFL players to expect in the new package, which will premiere with the year’s first Sunday Night Football game on September 8:

Atlanta Falcons WR Julio Jones
Chicago Bears DB Kyle Fuller
Chicago Bears LB Khalil Mack
Chicago Bears QB Mitch Trubisky
Cleveland Browns QB Baker Mayfield
Dallas Cowboys QB Dak Prescott
Kansas City Chiefs QB Patrick Mahomes
Los Angeles Rams QB Jared Goff
Minnesota Vikings QB Kirk Cousins
Philadelphia Eagles QB Carson Wentz
Philadelphia Eagles TE Zach Ertz
Philadelphia Eagles DT Fletcher Cox
Seattle Seahawks QB Russell Wilson

Written by Brian Cantor

Brian Cantor is the editor-in-chief for Headline Planet. He has been a leading reporter in the music, movie, television and sporting spaces since 2002.

Brian's reporting has been cited by major websites like BuzzFeed, Billboard, the New Yorker and The Fader -- and shared by celebrities like Taylor Swift, Justin Bieber and Nicki Minaj.

Contact Brian at brian.cantor[at]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


“Strahan & Sara” Adds Keke Palmer As 3rd Host, Becomes “GMA3: Strahan, Sara & Keke”

Billie Eilish, Taylor Swift, Camila Cabello Scheduled For “Saturday Night Live” Performances