Tinashe, Jordan Fisher, Vanessa Hudgens, More Confirmed For FOX’s Live “Rent” Broadcast

FOX reveals the key cast members for its upcoming live edition of “Rent.”

Tinashe by Dennis Leupold | Courtesy of RCA

FOX will be broadcasting “Rent” as its next live musical on Sunday, January 27.

In a Monday afternoon press release, the network confirmed a handful of key cast members for the adaptation.

The cast includes Jordan Fisher, Tinashe, Brennin Hunt, Mario, Vanessa Hudgens, Kiersey Clemons, Brandon Victor Dixon, and Valentina. “Greatest Showman” breakout Keala Settle will also appear to deliver a special performance of “Seasons Of Love.”

Each cast member’s role is specified below.

“Rent” will air from 7-10PM ET/PT on January 27.

Kiersey Clemons as JOANNE JEFFERSON, Maureen’s girlfriend and an Ivy League-educated lawyer.

Brandon Victor Dixon as TOM COLLINS, the computer scientist who returns to New York after being expelled from MIT.

Jordan Fisher as MARK COHEN, an aspiring filmmaker, who serves as the show’s narrator, while filming the lives of his friends.

Vanessa Hudgens as MAUREEN JOHNSON, the outgoing performance artist who’s not afraid to take on the establishment.

Brennin Hunt as ROGER DAVIS, a struggling musician and Mark’s roommate and best friend.

Mario as BENJAMIN COFFIN III, Mark and Roger’s former roommate-turned-landlord, who is after their rent.

Tinashe as MIMI MARQUEZ, the dancer who struggles with addiction.

Valentina as ANGEL DUMONT SCHUNARD, a young drag queen and street percussionist who embraces life and lives it to its fullest.

Written by Brian Cantor

Brian Cantor is the editor-in-chief for Headline Planet. He has been a leading reporter in the music, movie, television and sporting spaces since 2002.

Brian's reporting has been cited by major websites like BuzzFeed, Billboard, the New Yorker and The Fader -- and shared by celebrities like Taylor Swift, Justin Bieber and Nicki Minaj.

Contact Brian at brian.cantor[at]



DJ Snake, Selena, Cardi & Ozuna’s “Taki Taki,” Halsey’s “Without Me” Enter Top 15 On Hot 100 Chart

Dua Lipa & BLACKPINK’s “Kiss And Make Up” Debuts At #93 On Billboard Hot 100